Sunday, November 9, 2008

Democratic Winners in the 2008 Election in Columbia County

Representative in Congress - Kirsten Gillibrand
20th Congressional District

In her sophomore reelection race for her congressional seat, Kirsten Gillibrand improved on her margin of 2 years ago when she unseated John Sweeney. She beat Sandy Treadwell with almost 62% of the vote even though she was tremendously outspent. This was an astounding reelection in a predominately Republican District.
See Also:

Gillibrand’s stature likely to rise after win.

NY-20: Freshman Dem wins a blood-red district in landslide

Assembly Member - Tim Gordon
108th Assembly District

In his reelection bid, Tim Gordon again won on his winning combination of Democrats, Independents and other political party members getting behind a solid candidate with the right ideas for their district.

Judge Patrick McGrath - Supreme Court Justice

In what many thought an impossible race, Judge McGrath won the seat from 14 year incumbent Judge Anthony Carpinello. Carpinello made assertions that a deal had been struck the previous year for the Democrats to endorse the Republican in his reelection bid. In the end, the truth won out and the voters chose Judge McGrath and rejected the old days of Albany back-room politics of the past.

Richard Koweek - Hudson City Judge

Richard Koweek won the seat of retiring Judge Barry Sack in Hudson. In a four way race Mr. Koweek still managed to beat his nearest opponent by a margin of 2 to 1.

More here

Donna Hoyt & Robert Mayhew -
Ancram Town Board
After resignations and shutdown of Ancram Town Government, two Democrats elected to Ancram Town Board.
More here
Background here
Ancram Democrats

David Gordineer - Copake Assesor
Democrat David Gordineer wins Copake Assesor Race

View Election Results here
Background - The Independent
More at Copake Democrats